Already a member?


Not a member yet?


Profile Search

Seeking Grandparents


Family from (NSW)


Hello potential grandparents

We have two permanent care foster kids, aged 7 (boy) and 8 (girl). They are full siblings and we've had them since they were born (our son) and 18 months (our daughter). They will be with us for life.

We're not spring chickens ourselves at 53 (me!) and 58 (my hubbie). But we're both young at heart and try to be healthy.

My parents died over ten years ago and my husband's father died over twenty years ago. His Mum, step dad and adopted sister live in Canada. We're grandparent-less! The kids both really wish they had grandparents, and see the relationships their friends have with their 'nanna and pop'. I wish my parents were alive now I'm parenting so I could get more advice ;) Realistically, if they WERE alive I have to remind myself they'd be 91 and not too sprightly!

Our kids have extra challenges - they are affected by what happened in utero, our son much less so as he's been with us since birth. I spend a lot of my time juggling getting around to various therapies and activities that help the kids, especially our daughter.

I also work around the kids (because we need the money and I need to use my brain)

We're both people who grew up in several different countries, but Australian (I was born here but spent big chunks travelling with my dad's work. Hubbie born overseas but been here since 14).

We live in a big unrenovated house (soon.... very soon...) with a menagerie of pets and a big beautiful garden.

Most people our age have grown-up kids, and we'd love a relationship with older people who could add that extra ongoing relationship to our kids. They need lots and lots of love, and, not surprisingly, they both need a lot from me! It's hard to get time to stay calm, think, let alone work with a clear mind.

We're doing the best that we can with extra challenges, but it's really exhausting, and there is only us.

We need grandparents!

If you think you may be able to be that person, I'd love to hear from you.



In addition, this Family:
  • Speaks: English
  • Has pets (Two dogs, three cats)
  • Never smokes cigarettes
  • Has a car (and a driver's licence), does not use public transport.
  • Would prefer grandparents to complete or hold valid first aid certification and would agree to pay for any courses that may be required.
Seeking  Grandparents


Note to visitors

Check this page regularly to see our new members.

Good to know

You can view all registered member profiles on our website without joining Find a Grandparent.

Once you have joined Find a Grandparent you can create your own profile and also send messages to grandparents/families via our website to establish contact.

 

Find a Grandparent shop banner

 

Your ad could be here

Please contact us if you want to advertise on this website.